Editing Folder Permissions

When you go to edit folder permissions for users it is best to understand the following:

 

How to Edit

Single Folder Update

Once you have clicked a user and navigate to the Folder Permissions area, you will follow these steps:

  1. In adding/updating permissions for one folder, you will select the edit permissions button to the right hand side. Screenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.20.58_AM.png
  2. Selecting the Edit Permissions button will open up this modal to select Add to existing or Replace all with.  Screenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.21.16_AM.png
  3. You will then select the permission type in the option box belowScreenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.34.22_AM.png
  4. If this is not a Parent Folder, your next step will be to click Save.

 

Bulk Folder Update

  1. In adding/updating permissions for multiple folders, you will select the folder you want to edit and then navigate to the Edit Permissions button to the right of the search bar.  Screenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.22.22_AM.png
  2. Selecting the Edit Permissions button will open up this modal to select Add to existing or Replace all with. Screenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.38.16_AM.png
  3. You will then select the permission type in the option box below.
  4. There is an additional option if you have selected a Parent folder that has a single folder beneath or multiple folders. If you want the same permissions that you are updating to apply, select the Apply button.Screenshot_2023-05-17_at_9.40.22_AM.png
  5. Finish off with selecting Save. 

 

Options for "Add to existing" vs "Replacing all with"

Understanding the difference between Add to existing vs Replacing all with is key to your goal. Below is an explanation of both. 

 

Add to existing

  • This will only add permissions for Viewer, Author or Admin that were not inherited to the user from the groups they are associated with.

Replace all with

  • This option will only change the previous permissions that were given explicitly to the user.

 

What Inherited vs Explicit means and relates to 

How the different types of permissions were given are viewed on the right hand side under the Viewer, Author and Admin columns. This is to make sure if you are updating the options, that you are aware what will be changed vs not. 

 

Inherited

  • These are granted to the user through the groups they have been associated with and can only be edited through those groups.

Explicit

  • These are permissions the user has been given manually, by an Admin. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful