Deactivating and Reactivating Users

This article walks you through the process of deactivating users, as well as how to reactivate a user should you need to restore their account access. There are two methods of deactivating and reactivating users.

  1. Basic accounts, as well as Premium and Enterprise accounts who opt not to provision users through Salesforce, will manage users through the web app.
  2. Premium/Enterprise accounts who provision users through Salesforce will need to activate and deactivate accounts through Salesforce.

Click on the links below to jump to the section you need.


Basic Accounts, and Premium/Enterprise Without User Provisioning

  1. Deactivating a User
  2. Reactivating a User

Premium/Enterprise Accounts With User Provisioning

  1. Deactivating a User
  2. Reactivating a User


Basic Accounts: Deactivating a User

  1. While in the Management Control Area, click the Users tab.

 

  1. Click the Deactivate button.

 

  1. Click OK on the prompt that appears to confirm that you wish to remove the user. 


 

  1. Your user is now deactivated. Once you refresh your screen, the deactivated user will no longer appear in the list of users.


Basic Accounts: Reactivating a User

  1. If for some reason you need to reactivate a user, simply click on Include more Users in this Administrative Group on the bottom of your screen. 

 

  1. Make sure the All filter is selected, and search for the user(s) you would like to add. Select the user(s) you would like to reactivate, then click the Complete button.
     

 

  1. You will be taken back to the Users tab, where you will need to reactivate the users. To do this, search for that user, and click on the green Activate button.

    NOTE: The user's account is now active again, but you will still need to add this user to the appropriate Circles to restore content access.
     

 

Premium/Enterprise Accounts with Salesforce Provisioning: Deactivating a User

If you're unsure whether you have Salesforce user provisioning set up, you can check by following these instructions in the first question of our FAQ.

When Salesforce user provisioning is turned on, the  system creates new Veelo accounts, deactivates existing accounts, and reactivates previously-deactivated accounts based on whether the Enabled in Veelo checkbox has been checked on their Salesforce user record.


In order to make the changes in the steps below, you need to have user administration privileges in Salesforce.

 

  1. To deactivate a user, first, log in to Salesforce. Navigate to their user page by going to Setup, clicking on Users in the Manage Users section, and then clicking on their name.
     


 

  1. On the user record, click on the Edit button, and scroll down until you see the Enabled in Veelo checkbox. Uncheck that box, and click on Save.
     


 

  1. The user provisioning sync runs periodically throughout the day, but you can also run it on demand if you would like to free up the license immediately. To do so, log in to your Veelo account and go to the Management Controls, then click on your name in the upper right corner, then Organization Settings.
     


 

  1. Click on the Settings tab, and expand the SFDC Sync section. Click on the Update Now button next to the "Automatically Provision Users and Tags from SFDC" checkbox.
     

 

Premium/Enterprise Accounts with Salesforce Provisioning: Reactivating a User

  1. To reactivate a user, first, log in to Salesforce. Navigate to their user page by going to Setup, clicking on Users in the Manage Users section, and then clicking on their name.

     
  2. On the user record, click on the Edit button, and scroll down until you see the Enabled in Veelo checkbox. Check that box. You can also apply Veelo tags to ensure your users are placed in the correct Circles. Once you're done, click on Save.

     
  3. The user provisioning sync runs periodically throughout the day, but you can also run it on demand if you would like to free up the license immediately. To do so, log in to your Veelo account and go to the Management Controls, then click on Manage Your Organization.

  4. Click on the Settings tab, and expand the SFDC Sync section. Click on the Update Now button next to the "Automatically Provision Users and Tags from SFDC" checkbox.

     
  5. Once the user's account has been reactivated, you will need to restore their content access by checking that they belong to the correct Circles. To do so, log in to the Veelo web app, go to the Management Controls area, and click on the Users tab. Click on the user's name to access their user settings page, and click on the Circles tab to see which Circles they belong to.

    If they don't belong to the correct Circles, follow these steps to restore their content access.
     



NOTE: If you reactivate a user's account through the Veelo web app and do not also ensure that their Enabled in Veelo box in their Salesforce user record is checked, the system will deactivate their account every night when the sync completes.